The Union Territories of India

In the Republic of India, when their respective governments rule states, there are some parts left that are governed directly by the Union Government (Central Government). Such parts are called Union Territories. These Union Territories are a type of administrative division of the Indian Republic and hold specific rights and status due to their constitutional formation and development.


The President of India appoints a lieutenant-governor or administrator for the Union Territories. In some union territories like Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir and Puducherry, the Republic of India elects a legislative assembly and a Chief Minister who collectively serves the territory under the guidelines of Union Government (Central Government). Only Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir and Puducherry have representation in the upper house of the Indian Parliament, the Rajya Sabha because they have their own locally elected legislative assemblies.

The Union Territories without elected legislature are:

The Union Territories with the elected legislatures and own governments are:

  • Pondicherry (Puducherry)
  • National Capital Territory of Delhi
  • Jammu & Kashmir


Did you find this article informatory?
Can you please help us improving it?