Union Territories

In the Republic of India, when their respective governments rule states, there are some parts left that are governed directly by the Union Government (Central Government). Such parts are called Union Territories. These Union Territories are a type of administrative division of the Indian Republic and hold specific rights and status due to their constitutional formation and development.


The President of India appoints a lieutenant-governor or administrator for the Union Territories. In some union territories like Delhi and Puducherry, the Republic of India elects a legislative assembly and a Chief Minister who collectively serve the territory under the guidelines of Union Government (Central Government). Only Delhi and Puducherry have representation in the upper house of the Indian Parliament, the Rajya Sabha because they have their own locally elected legislative assemblies.

The seven Union Territories of India are:

Did you find this article informatory?
Sorry to hear this! Can you please help us improving it?